Skip to content
Glasgow City Council

School Term Dates

The Scottish Government has announced schools across the country to close from the end of the school day Friday 20 March 2020 - we are working on contingency plans to be put in place to support our families and will announce these as soon as we can.  Please visit www.glasgow.gov.uk/coronavirus for latest updates.

School term dates 2020

April - Spring Holiday (Easter)

  • Schools close at 2.30pm on Friday 03 April 2020
  • Good Friday 10 April 2020
  • Easter Monday 13 April 2020 
  • Schools return on Monday 20 April 2020

May 

  • Friday 8 May 2020 (May holiday)
  • Monday 11 May 2020 (In-Service day)
  • Friday 22 and Monday 25 May 2020 (May Weekend)

June

  • Schools close at 1pm on Wednesday 24 June 2020

August (Revised and updated Thursday 18 June due to COVID-19)

  • Monday 10 August 2020 (Return date for Teachers & In-Service Day)
  • Tuesday 11 August 2020 (In-Service Day)
  • Wednesday 12 August - group 1 for primary schools (who would normally be in Monday and Tuesday); secondary schools, ASL schools and nurseries open in line with their individual plans
  • Thursday 13 August and /Friday 14 August - group 2 for primary schools; secondary schools, ASL schools and nurseries open in line with their individual plans

September Weekend 

  • Friday 25 September 2020
  • Monday 28 September 2020 

October

  • Friday 9 October 2020 (In-Service Day)
  • Monday 12 to Friday16 October 2020 (October Week)

December - Christmas and New Year

  • Schools close at 2.30 pm on Tuesday 22 December 2020
  • Wednesday 23 December 2020 to Tuesday 5 January 2021 (Christmas holidays)

Updated school term dates 2021

January

  • Schools return on Wednesday 6 January 2021

February Mid-term break

  • Friday 5 February 2021
  • Monday 8 February 2021
  • Tuesday 9 February 2021
  • Wednesday 10 February 2021 (In-service day)

April - Spring Holiday (Easter)

  • Schools close at 2.30 pm on Thursday 1 April 2021
  • Good Friday 2 April 2021
  • Easter Monday 5 April 2021
  • Schools return on Monday 19 April 2021

May

  • Monday 3 May 2021 (May Holiday)
  • Thursday 6 May 2021 (In-Service day to coincide with Scottish Parliament Elections)
  • Friday 28 May 2021 and Monday, 31 May 2021 (May Weekend)

June

  • Schools Close at 1.00 pm on Thursday 24 June 2021

August

  • Thursday 12 August 2021 (Return date for Teachers & In-Service Day)
  • Friday 13 August 2021 (In-Service Day)
  • Monday 16 August 2021 (Return date for the pupils)

September Weekend 

  • Friday 24 September 2021
  • Monday 27 September 2021 

October

  • Friday 8 October 2021 (In-Service Day)
  • Monday 11 to Friday 15 October 2021 (October Week)

December - Christmas and New Year

  • Schools close at 2.30 pm on Wednesday 22 December 2021
  • Thursday 23 December 2021 - Tuesday 4 January (Christmas holidays)

Updated Proposed school term dates 2022

January

  • Schools return on Wednesday 5 January 2022

February Mid-term break

  • Monday 14 February 2022
  • Tuesday 15 February 2022
  • Wednesday 16 February 2022 (In-service day)

April - Spring Holiday (Easter)

  • Schools close at 2.30 pm on Friday 1 April 2022
  • Good Friday 15 April 2022
  • Easter Monday 18 April 2022
  • Schools return on Tuesday 19 April 2022

May

  • Monday 2 May 2022 (May Holiday)
  • Thursday 5 May 2022 (In-Service day to coincide with Scottish Local Government Elections)
  • Friday 27 May 2022 and Monday 30 May 2022 (May Weekend)

June

  • Schools Close at 1.00 pm on Friday 24 June 2022

August

  • Thursday 11 August 2022 (Return date for Teachers)

 

Share this page:

A to Z:

Council Services