Skip to content
Glasgow City Council

Hollywood actor and Texas rockers recognised by Lord Provost for their contribution to Glasgow

Legendary Scottish rock band Texas and Hollywood star James McAvoy are among those to be honoured by the Lord Provost of Glasgow at a special awards ceremony tonight, Friday 26 February at the City Chambers.

Lord Provost Sadie Docherty will present the Lord Provost's Awards at a civic dinner recognising that 'People Make Glasgow'.

Previous high profile recipients include actor Robbie Coltrane, Lady Mone and singer- songwriter Frankie Miller.

Texas, led by Glasgow-born singer Sharleen Spiteri, will receive the Lord Provost's Music Award marking the  25th anniversary of the current  band's line-up. A career spanning quarter of a century that has overseen 35 million album sales. Keyboard player Eddie Campell will accept  the award on behalf of the band who are unable to attend due to performance commitments.

James McAvoy, from Drumchapel, made his name in the televison's 'State of Play' and 'Shameless'. His stellar rise to fame has seen him star in the blockbuster  'X- men' trilogy, 'The last King of Scotland' and |Irvine Welsh's 'Filth' for which he received Best Actor at the British Independent Film Awards.

His award is in recognition of his contribution to the Performing Arts including his financing of a scholarship scheme for disadvantaged young actors at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, where he trained. The award will be made in absentia because of Mr McAvoy's filming commitments. It is expected Mr McAvoy will meet the Lord Provost at a later date when she will presented him with his award.

Glasgow Warriors will receive the Sports Award for their stunning triumph in the Pro-12 international rugby tournament, alongside other winners in categories for business, charity, education, health, public service, voluntary service.

The awards will be made at a civic dinner, where people from all walks of life across Glasgow will gather to be honoured fo their outstanding contribution to the city and its citizens.

The Lord Provost said: "The Lord Provost's Awards is a chance for the city to say thank you to the people who make Glasgow.  In every corner of the city there are people who are motivated to go that extra mile just to add something special to the life of those around them.

"Glasgow is fortunate to have such a deep well of talent and energy to draw upon and that is reflected in the fact that people with such a wide range of interests, experience and expertise will be recognised.

"The awards for Texas and James McAvoy will undoubtedly grab the attention as they are icons in their fields of music and drama.  But everyone who steps forward to receive an award has their own star quality and has has lifted the spirits and aspirations of Glasgow citizens in their own unique way.

"I am very proud to have the opportunity to personally thank these wonderful award winners for their contribution to making Glasgow the great city it is."

Entertainment at the civic dinner will be provided by Piper Lynn Caldwell and the Erskine String Quartet.

Lord Provost's Award recipients

Business Award - Mr Taylor and Mrs Anne Ferguson

Charity Award - Dr Mozammel Huq

Education Award - Sunnyside Primary School

Health Award - Professor Frank Dunn DL, CBE, MD, FRCP

Music Award - Texas

Performing Arts Award - Mr James McAvoy

Public Service Award - Ms Evelyn Scott

Public Service Award - Mrs Christine Devine DL, MBE

Voluntary Services Award - Mr Frank McArdle.

Share this page:

A to Z:

Council Services