Skip to content
Glasgow City Council

Glasgow's new UK Parliament constituency map open for consultation

Published: February 28, 2017.

Plans to redraw the map of Glasgow's constituencies for Westminster elections are open again for consultation.

The consultation by the Boundary Commission for Scotland is part of a plan to reduce the number of MPs representing the UK from 650 to 600 with Scotland's 59 UK Parliament constituencies being replaced by 53.

For Glasgow it's proposed that the current seven constituencies be replaced by 6 new areas - Glasgow Central, Glasgow East, Glasgow North, Glasgow South East, Glasgow South West and Glasgow West.

Each constituency is expected to contain between 71,031 and 78,507 electors with the commission aiming to design constituency boundaries to fall within local authority areas where ever possible. Community ties and local geography should also be recognised and taken into consideration.

An initial consultation on the proposals was held in late 2016/early 2017 and the Boundary Commission for Scotland is now seeking further comment on the suggestions or information already gathered during the initial period.

More information on the proposals can be found at the commission's website:-

Comments can left on the website, emailed to the commission via the email address: - , or by letter to the commission's office at Thistle House, 91 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh, EH 12 5HD.

Any responses on the proposals in Glasgow are to be returned to the commission by March 27, 2017.

The Boundary Commission for Scotland is then expected to submit a report to the Secretary of State for Scotland October 1, 2018.


Published: February 28, 2017.

Share this page:

A to Z:

Council Services