Skip to content
Glasgow City Council

Councillor Eva Bolander chosen as Glasgow's Lord Provost

Councillor Eva Bolander has been appointed as the new Lord Provost of Glasgow.

The Swedish-born member for Anderston/City/Yorkhill made history earlier this afternoon, as the first EU national chosen to be the city's first citizen.

Her deputy will be her ward colleague Bailie Philip Braat, who served as City Treasurer in the last council. 

The first Council meeting of the new term also formally confirmed Cllr Susan Aitken as Leader of Glasgow City Council and Cllr David McDonald as Depute Leader.

The new Lord Provost paid tribute to her predecessor, Sadie Docherty, who stood down as a councillor in May, and welcomed all the 85 elected councillors including the 41 first time councillors.

She told the meeting: "I am very aware what a responsibility it is to represent our great city and our wonderful citizens.

"At the same time, I am thrilled at this honour - especially as only the fifth woman in history to do this job and the first EU national. 

"Glasgow is such a friendly and warm city. I will ensure that the doors of the City Chambers are open to welcome the people of Glasgow and visitors from around the world.

"I want to ensure we have open debate that fully reflects the concerns and aspirations of Glasgow's citizens, the people we have the honour to represent. I look forward to working with you all."
The Lord Provost thanked her family and friends - including son Erik, who was in the public gallery watching his mother take up her new civic post. She also took the opportunity to send a unique birthday greeting to her daughter Sahra, who is studying in the USA.

As well confirming the Leader and Depute Leader of the Council, this afternoon's meeting saw the new city government name its City Conveners:

•    Cllr Susan Aitken, Leader of the Council and City Convener for Inclusive Economic Growth
•    Cllr David McDonald, Depute Leader of the Council and City Convener for Communities
•    Cllr John Letford, Business Manager and City Convener for Democratic Renewal
•    Cllr Allan Gow, City Treasurer
•    Cllr Chris Cunningham, City Convener for Education, Skills and Early Years
•    Cllr Mhairi Hunter, City Convener for Health and Social Care Integration
•    Cllr Anna Richardson, City Convener for Sustainability and Carbon Reduction
•    Cllr Kenny McLean, City Convener for Neighbourhoods, Housing and Public Realm
•    Cllr Jen Layden, City Convener for Equalities and Human Rights
•    Cllr Feargal Dalton, City Convener for Workforce

Share this page:

A to Z:

Council Services