Skip to content
Glasgow City Council

Council to sponsor Fair Work awards at 21st Glasgow Business Awards

Glasgow City Council is to sponsor two Fair Work awards at the 2018 Glasgow Business Awards. The awards - run by the Glasgow Chamber of Commerce - will celebrate their 21st year at a dinner and ceremony in October.


Fair Work Awards


The council will sponsor Fair Work awards for businesses in the city of between 1 and 50 employees, and over 51 employees, when the achievements of Glasgow's businesses are recognised and celebrated.


Fair Work workplaces are described as businesses or organisations who have committed to putting in place policies and practices to improve the working lives of their employees and through doing so, have realised direct improvements to the performance and productivity of their business.


Fair Work businesses are leading the way in helping to make Glasgow the most productive city economy in the UK in a way that works for everyone. 


Councillor Susan Aitken, Leader of Glasgow City Council and City Convener for Inclusive Economic Growth, said: "We are delighted to sponsor these Fair Work awards at the 21st Glasgow Business Awards. It is only right that businesses and organisations who act in this way to generate true inclusive growth for the city receive recognition, and I would urge anyone who feels they are part of a Fair Work organisation to submit an application."


Stuart Patrick, Chief Executive of Glasgow Chamber of Commerce said: "We're thrilled to welcome back Glasgow City Council as an award sponsor at this year's Glasgow Business Awards. Glasgow Chamber of Commerce is committed to improving the business community and within that, we are dedicated to providing better opportunities and policies for its workforce. The two Fair Work awards supported by Glasgow City Council underline the importance of a healthy working atmosphere that is inclusive to all - something Glasgow Chamber of Commerce is keen to promote amongst the city and beyond."


The Glasgow Business Awards have 13 categories that businesses can submit entries for, including Innovation in Business and International Trade.


Entry to more than one category is allowed, and entries will be judged at two stages by an impartial panel of judges with winners announced at the Awards dinner and ceremony on Thursday 4 October 2018.


Share this page:

A to Z:

Council Services